Posted in ESSAYS

5 Common Agonies of a Nocturnal Writer

school-days-on-pinterest-whimsical-owl-picasa-and-school-days-iukhgw-clipart
Grabbed from clipartkid.com

Common advice for those who aspire to become a writer is to write down ideas that pop into their head immediately on a paper before it’s too late.

That is exactly what I’m doing right now. It’s already 10:43 P.M. on my clock (Manila Time). My weekday call time is 7:20 A.M. That means, I need to be up as early as five or five thirty in the morning and here I am: still up facing my computer.

To be honest, I am one of those who counts the amount of sleep I’ll get before I completely shut my eyes. And this is one of my agonies as a nocturnal writer.

Here are FIVE common agonies you might experience if you’re a nocturnal writer like me:

  1. Sleep Deprivation You sleep late and wake up early. Health authorities often remind us to get some sleep as much as 7 to 8 hours Every.Single.Night. If your normal sleeping hours only ranges from 5 to 6 hours (because you sleep at twelve midnight and wakes up five in the morning), good luck to your brain cells.
  2. Insomnia Because we are so afraid of the health risks of sleep deprivation, we are trying to train our body clock. Lights off by 9:30 P.M. then lie on your bed. But your eyes just don’t seem to shut. The next thing you’ll know, it’s already two in the morning and you’re still wide awake thinking of things that you could have already put on the paper.
  3. Haggard Face Let’s start with the baggy eyes. Then with the chapped lips. Next, the dry skin. Lastly the gradual sagging of the face. In short, you look like a melting Olaf.
  4. Blank-Headed on Midday Your body is sending you signals that you need to sleep or at least take a nap. But even if you take a power nap, seems like ideas wouldn’t just want to get into your head feeling, well, blank.
  5. The Urge to Write It’s already late and your body wants some rest but your brain is tempted when it sees a pencil and a paper or an open computer. Then, ideas start to rush again as if it has been recharged throughout the day. The next you’ll know, you’re just repeating the cycle over and over again.

We can’t refrain from ideas popping at night. It is also true that thinking and writing at night is a hard habit to break for nocturnal writers. There’s nothing bad in writing at night or at any time of the day. But I think, as one of those nocturnal writers, we need to discipline ourselves and train our brains to have a specific time for writing. If this can be done, I guess we can take  care of our health better and can also become wise time managers.

 

 

Author:

Hi, I'm Ivannod. A teacher by weekdays, student and blogger by weekends, and a full-time avid reader, deep thinker, internet aficionado, choir member, sister and daughter. Until now I'm still torn between being an introvert and extrovert. I think it has something to do as a millennial. Well, who cares? No one's gonna count how many times you get confuse in your life anyway. Oh, by the way, did I mention that my real name is actually spelled backward?

Leave a Reply

