Posted in BOOKS

Not Another YA Book

BOOK CHALLENGE #13: Choose a book with a great first line.
IMG_20160905_093111

One afternoon, I was all drained of all the papers that I need to face on my carrel. I was looking for an escape inside our library and I ended up picking up this book.

SYNOPSIS:

It’s about a 17-year-old girl who was only four minutes late missing her flight to London for her father’s wedding day. She has never imagined that getting late for four minutes will make a big change in her life.

While waiting for the next flight to London, she bumped into a handsome stranger in the airport with a British accent. This stranger happened to have the same row seat with her in the plane.

During the trip, the two shared some of their deepest thoughts. Actually, it’s the girl who has shared more than the boy. Nevertheless, both were surprised to learn that they have easily loosened up with each other.

When they reached the airport, they shared a kiss and went on their separate ways.

The girl almost did not make it to her dad’s wedding. Luckily, the bridesmaids were on standby to help her fix. During the ceremony, she was just thinking of all that has happened to her family and how her dad ended up falling out of love with her mom.

On the other hand, the guy she met on the plane was also facing a different family affair.

After the ceremony in both sides, life took its course and led them to meet again. It wasn’t as lovey-dovey like the way they first met. And so the second time they met, they went separate ways again.

At the end of the story, both had some realizations about the turn of events in their family lives and met again.

REVIEW

I must admit. The first chapters were really promising. Even the prolog. Just imagine someone asking you this question, “How can four minutes change your life?” Wouldn’t you get intrigued too? Ohhh…. If only four minutes will lead me to the man of my dreams. Isn’t that exciting?

I loved it from there to the part when they were talking about things in their lives, whether it’s funny or dramatic. The characters are realistic. Just imagine talking to a stranger on a long trip and finding yourself loosening up to them easily, right? I think that’s what everyone wants. Sharing a ride in a public transport and making friends. In the case of the characters, they got attracted to each other immediately.

However, I lost my attachment to the story when they parted ways at the airport. Not because it wasn’t realistic. Of course, it was! There are just two parts that I don’t find realistic. First, when she went out to look for this guy. And second, when the guy showed up in the reception and went on dancing with her ON THE SAME DAY of his father’s funeral.

Yeah, these things may happen. I’m just not convinced on how the characters were moving from one place to another. There might have been other ways to do it.

Another thing that wasn’t so clear is the issue about her dad and mom ending up having a divorce. Okay, maybe I’m just not a fan of divorce (though it’s rampant nowadays). I just can’t help asking why her father broke up with her mom.

I think, I put myself too much into her shoes that I would also like to share the decision-making with her in ruining her father’s wedding.

The ending of this story is not satisfying for me.

So far, almost all the YA books that I have read have an unsatisfying middle and ending parts. The only one that I find interesting from cover to cover is, “The Fault in Our Stars”.

I hope the next time I pull out a YA book from the shelf, I won’t end up saying, “Not another YA book!” after reading it.

STARS: 2/5

Author:

Hi, I'm Ivannod. A teacher by weekdays, student and blogger by weekends, and a full-time avid reader, deep thinker, internet aficionado, choir member, sister and daughter. Until now I'm still torn between being an introvert and extrovert. I think it has something to do as a millennial. Well, who cares? No one's gonna count how many times you get confuse in your life anyway. Oh, by the way, did I mention that my real name is actually spelled backward?

Leave a Reply

